IndyWatch First People News Feed Archiver

Go Back:30 Days | 7 Days | 2 Days | 1 Day

IndyWatch First People News Feed Today.

Go Forward:1 Day | 2 Days | 7 Days | 30 Days

IndyWatch First People News Feed was generated at Australian News IndyWatch.

Friday, 26 February

14:42

How Israel outsources torture to its Palestinian subcontractor | 972 Magazine Aboriginal News Group Newswire

How Israel outsources torture to its Palestinian subcontractor | 972 Magazine: Security coordination between Israel and the PA has been at the heart of public debate in both the West Bank and Israel over the past few months. From Mahmoud Abbas’ threats to put an end to coordination to the position taken by the Shin Bet (Israel Security Agency), according to which the PA does all it can to suppress West Bank protests, it seems that this is one of the central political issues in Palestinian society today.

A new report by Israeli human rights organizations B’Tselem and Hamoked, which details alleged abuse and torture of Palestinian detainees in the Shin Bet’s “Shikma” interrogation facility, gives us another glimpse into this security coordination. According to the report, one-third (39) of the Palestinian detainees interviewed for the report were arrested by Palestinian security forces prior to their arrest and interrogation by Israel’s Shin Bet.

14:42

PressTV-EU resolution urges Saudi arms embargo Aboriginal News Group Newswire

PressTV-EU resolution urges Saudi arms embargo: On Thursday, Members of the European Parliament (MEPs) voted 359 in favor, 212 against and with 31 abstentions for the motion, calling on EU member states to stop selling weapons to the Riyadh regime as it is accused of targeting civilians in Yemen.

Following the resolution’s adoption, Alyn Smith, the Greens/European Free Alliance foreign affairs spokesman, said the call for an arms embargo on Saudi Arabia “reflects growing frustration at the conduct of war in Yemen by the Saudi Air Force.”

10:06

On the Earthquake Anniversary: Haiti Blasted Once Again | Haiti Chery Aboriginal News Group Newswire

On the Earthquake Anniversary: Haiti Blasted Once Again | Haiti Chery: Within two weeks, vast plantations of millet had been ravaged in Haiti’s Center Department, quite far from Petit-Go�ve and near to the Dominican Republic. Affected towns included Ma�ssade, Hinche, Thomassique, and Thomonde, all of them in the country’s notoriously fertile Central Plateau. Ironically, the blight happened close to the county office of MARNDR in Hinche. According to farmer-agronomist Beaudler Louis, of MARNDR, “the millet leaves dried up, and their clusters were invaded by insects.” The agronomist said that he did not manage to save even a bunch of millet from his plantation of several hectares because the destruction happened in a “split second.”

09:51

Iroquois Nation Reps, Clan Mothers, Gather for 222nd Annual Canandaigua Treaty Ceremony Indian Country Headline News

Iroquois Nation leaders, clan mothers and other tribal members gathered in Washington, DC on Monday to renew a 222-year-old treaty between the U.S....

Math Now Favors Trump and Clinton Indian Country Headline News

TRAHANT REPORTS – It’s clear that Republican Donald Trump and D...

09:09

#StepUpScholastic - What I Don't See in Feb 2016 Flyers for Early Childhood, K, 1st, and 2nd Grade Readers American Indians in Children's Literature (AICL)

You remember those Scholastic catalogs your teachers would pass out from time to time? Thinking about them is a powerful memory--for me--because I loved reading. I still do! I was a kid in the 60s. I wish I had one of those catalogs now, so I could see how the books I chose from compare to those in this year's catalogs.

American Indians in Children's Literature is part of the #StepUpScholastic campaign that invites parents, students, teachers, librarians--anyone, really--to study the books Scholastic offers in their flyers (they say flyer, some say catalog, others say club forms). Once you study a flyer, you can write a letter to Scholastic telling them what you were looking for, and what you found--or didn't find.

I'm looking for books by Native people, but if I see a good one about Native people that is written by someone who is not Native, I'd buy it.

Let's take a look at what kids are getting this month (February of 2016). First, a screen capture of that page so you know what it looks like:



Early Childhood:

On the first page, I see Happy Valentines Day, Little Critter. I bet the Little Critter Thanksgiving book was in their November catalog. I wouldn't get that one. In fact, I have it on my "not recommended" list. On the...

05:45

Feeling the Bern; Support Grows For Sanders in Indian Country Indian Country Headline News

On Wednesday, Nick Carter, deputy political director for the Bernie Sanders campaign, gave an update on new Native Amer...

03:19

Bathing in Crude: Villages Sick After Oil Spill Indian Country Headline News

After a heavy rain washed a huge oil slick down the Chiriaco River in northern Peru, 12-year-old Elías Taijín Rivera re...

03:14

AICL's Recommended/Not Recommended Reads in 2015 American Indians in Children's Literature (AICL)

This is a list of books I read in 2015, sorted into categories of Recommended (total of 16), and Not Recommended (47 in all). As you see, it is not a list of books that came out in 2015. Grand total: 60 (and counting). There is one writer on the recommended list who is not Native (Daniel José Older) and one on the Not Recommended list who is Native (Tara White). Links go to my review on AICL, and some of the links go to my article at School Library Journal

This is not a comprehensive list. There are books that I bought or received but wasn't able to read or finish writing up. One example is Ann Martin's Claudia and the First Thanksgiving. That's a book in the Babysitters Club series. It was one that will end up with a Recommended tag when I write it up. 

Recommended

03:12

03:05

Germany: Onlookers Cheered as a Refugee Shelter Went Up in Flames - The Constantine Report Aboriginal News Group Newswire

Germany: Onlookers Cheered as a Refugee Shelter Went Up in Flames - The Constantine Report: “Some people reacted to the arson with derogatory comments and undisguised joy,” local police described in a statement.

Later that morning Saxony’s prime minister, Stanislaw Tillich, condemned the crowd’s actions, calling them “criminals.”

The police said they suspected arson and were investigating right-wing extremist groups in the area who have recently become vocally anti-migrant.

Two drunken men were arrested after they refused to leave the scene.

Days before the fire, around 100 protestors in the nearby Saxon town of Clausnitz blocked refugees from leaving the bus intended to bring them to a new shelter. The refugees were forced to stay in the bus for hours until police managed to disperse the crowd.

A video of the protest shows German protestors chanting “We are the people” — the slogan of the 1989 peaceful uprising which led to the fall of the Berlin Wall — as visibly frightened migrant women and children were off-loaded into the shelter.

02:34

Debbie--have you seen... Joseph Bruchac's THE LONG RUN American Indians in Children's Literature (AICL)

Out this year from 7th Generation is Joseph Bruchac's The Long Run. It is in their PathFinders series.

Follow Travis Hawk on a cross-country trek as he escapes a world of brutality and uncertainty and puts his trust, and even his very life, in the hands of total strangers. Travis's story is one of struggle, survival, risk and resilience, navigating a solo journey of hundreds of miles to seek a safe haven far from the demons of his past.
I'll be back with a review!

02:30

Debbie--have you seen... Michelle Modesto's REVENGE AND THE WILD American Indians in Children's Literature (AICL)

A reader sent me a copy of Michelle Modesto's Revenge and the Wild. Published in 2016 by HarperCollins, here's the synopsis.

True Grit meets True Blood in this delightfully dark and fantastical Western perfect for fans of Gail Carriger, Cassandra Clare, and Holly Black. This thrilling novel is a remarkable tale of danger and discovery, from debut author Michelle Modesto.
The two-bit town of Rogue City is a lawless place, full of dark magic and saloon brawls, monsters and six-shooters. But it’s just perfect for seventeen-year-old Westie, the notorious adopted daughter of local inventor Nigel Butler.
Westie was only a child when she lost her arm and her family to cannibals on the wagon trail. Seven years later, Westie may seem fearsome with her foul-mouthed tough exterior and the powerful mechanical arm built for her by Nigel, but the memory of her past still haunts her. She’s determined to make the killers pay for their crimes—and there’s nothing to stop her except her own reckless ways.
But Westie’s search ceases when a wealthy family comes to town looking to invest in Nigel’s latest invention, a machine that can harvest magic from gold—which...

02:26

Debbie--have you seen... Sarah Dickson Silver's DREAM A PONY, WAKE A SPIRIT: THE STORY OF BUSTER: A CHOCTAW PONY SURVIVOR American Indians in Children's Literature (AICL)

Sarah Dickson Silver's Dream a Pony: Wake a Spirit: The Story of Buster, a Choctaw Pony Survivor, is on my to-read list this year. Published in 2015 by Luminare Press, here's the synopsis:

In the Choctaw Nation, Indian Territory, in the year 1900, friendships between children of white “intruders” and their Choctaw and Chickasaw schoolmates had to cross a deep cultural divide. It was also a time when public ignorance could make a mockery of the ambitions of a boy with dwarfism and a place where children had to grow up fast. Trouble begins when a beautiful wild stallion, a supposed man killer, is rescued by two adventurous young brothers. When the stallion is identified as a rare Choctaw horse, the question of who should own him threatens to destroy cherished friendships. Then a courageous decision by a young boy allows the ancient spirit of Buster, their Choctaw Pony survivor, to live on for future generations to love and respect.

If I am able to read it, I'll be back with a review.

02:08

Debbie--have you seen... Joseph Bruchac's BROTHERS OF THE BUFFALO American Indians in Children's Literature (AICL)

Out this year from Fulcrum is Bruchac's Brothers of the Buffalo: A Novel of the Red River War. Here's the synopsis:

1874, the U.S. Army sent troops to subdue and move the Native Americans of the southern plains to reservations.Brothers of the Buffalo follows Private Washington Vance Jr., an African-American calvaryman, and Wolf, a Cheyenne warrior, during the brief and brutal war that followed. Filled with action and suspense from both sides of the battle, this is a tale of conflict and unlikely friendship in the Wild West.

I'll put it in my to-read pile. It is being marketed as for kids in grade 7 and up.

IndyWatch First People News Feed Archiver

Go Back:30 Days | 7 Days | 2 Days | 1 Day

IndyWatch First People News Feed Today.

Go Forward:1 Day | 2 Days | 7 Days | 30 Days

IndyWatch First People News Feed was generated at Australian News IndyWatch.

Resource generated at IndyWatch using aliasfeed and rawdog