IndyWatch First People News Feed Archiver

Go Back:30 Days | 7 Days | 2 Days | 1 Day

IndyWatch First People News Feed Today.

Go Forward:1 Day | 2 Days | 7 Days | 30 Days

IndyWatch First People News Feed was generated at Australian News IndyWatch.

Wednesday, 10 February

21:39

Survival International accuses WWF of involvement in violence and abuse News from Survival International

Forced out of the forest, many Baka communities complain of a serious decline in their health. Living on the roadside, they are increasingly exposed to malaria and other diseases.
Forced out of the forest, many Baka communities complain of a serious decline in their health. Living on the roadside, they are increasingly exposed to malaria and other diseases.
© Survival International

Survival International has launched a formal complaint about the activities of the World Wide Fund for Nature (WWF) in Cameroon.

This is the first time a conservation organization has been the subject of a complaint to the OECD (Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development), using a procedure more normally invoked against multinational corporations.

The complaint charges WWF with involvement in violent abuse and land theft against Baka “Pygmies” in Cameroon, carried out by anti-poaching squads which it in part funds and equips.

Before beginning its work in Cameroon, WWF failed to consider what impact it would hav...

11:41

Snake River Fall Chinook Mark Third Consecutive Record Run Indian Country Headline News

Fall chinook salmon are again returning to the Snake River in record numbers, for the third year in a row, a success that the Nez Perce Tribe attributes to the careful use of ha...

07:49

Lisa Charleyboy on Winning the American Indian Library Association's 2016 Middle Grade Honor Award for DREAMING IN INDIAN American Indians in Children's Literature (AICL)

I'm pleased to share Lisa Charleyboy's response to the news that Dreaming in Indian was named as the American Indian Library Association's 2016 Honor Book in the Middle Grade category: 


I am truly honoured to have 'Dreaming in Indian' recognized in the Middle School Category in the 2016 American Indian Youth Literature Awards. It has been an absolute dream for me to have worked with my co-editor Mary Beth Leatherdale in creating this anthology so that more youth across Turtle Island would be able to learn about the Indigenous experience.
It was truly our goal to use this book to enlighten and empower and being recognized in prestigious awards such as this allows the book to reach more people which is truly a blessing! 




Do take time to watch this video. In it, Lisa and her co-editor, Mary Beth Leatherdale, talk about the ideas, development, and reception to their book. In personal conversations with librarians, I can say that it is a big hit in their libraries.

...

07:48

2016 Winners of the American Indian Library Association's Youth Literature Award American Indians in Children's Literature (AICL)

I am thrilled to see the winners of the 2016 American Indian Library Association's Youth Literature Awards!

Here's the graphic with the award winning books:







Picture Book Award Winner
Little You 
Written by Richard Van Camp
Illustrated by Julie Flett
Published in 2013 by Orca Book Publishers

Picture Book H...

06:33

Wab Kinew Runs for Office Indian Country Headline News

TRAHANT REPORTS – One of Canada’s most inspirational voices is...

Simmons: Racism in Tewksbury, Massachusetts, and a Failing American School System Indian Country Headline News

On January 27, the town of Tewksbury, Massachusetts held a “powwow,” according to the original headline from the ...

Navajo Nation Suit Against Urban Outfitters Ongoing; 'Navajo' Is Not a 'Generic Term,' Diné Argue Indian Country Headline News

In 2012, the Navajo Nation sued Urban Outfitters, Inc. for alleged violations of federal and state trademarks. Four years later, the case has yet to be settled....

Searching for the Murdered and Missing Indian Country Headline News

Lissa Yellowbird-Chase, former tribal attorney for the Three Affiliated Tribes of the Hidatsa-Mandan-Arikara Nation, ha...

01:08

Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock's THE SMELL OF OTHER PEOPLE'S HOUSES American Indians in Children's Literature (AICL)

When I learned that Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock's The Smell of Other People's Houses has Native characters in it, the title took on a dark connotation. Central to European and US racism towards Native peoples was their characterization of Native peoples as primitive, dirty, and in need of "civilizing."  Thanks to a friend who was at the American Library Association's Midwinter meeting last month, I was able to read an advance reader's copy of it.


Most of Hitchcock's story takes place in Fairbanks in 1970. Here's the synopsis:

In Alaska, 1970, being a teenager here isn’t like being a teenager anywhere else. This deeply moving and authentic debut is for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Louise Erdrich, Sherman Alexie, and Benjamin Alire Saenz. Intertwining stories of love, tragedy, wild luck, and salvation on the edge of America’s Last Frontier introduce a writer of rare talent.
Ruth has a secret that she can’t hide forever. Dora wonders if she can ever truly escape where she comes from, even when good luck strikes. Alyce is trying to reconcile her desire to dance, with the life she’s always known on her family’s fishing boat. Hank and his brothers decide it’s safer to run away than to stay home—until one of them ends up in terrible danger.
Four very different lives are about to become entangled. This unforgettable book is about people who try to save each other—and how sometimes, when they least expect it, they suc...

00:31

Debby Slier's LOVING ME American Indians in Children's Literature (AICL)

Debby Slier's Loving Me is a delightful board book! Published in 2013 by Star Bright Books, it is definitely one I'll be recommending!

Here's the cover:



The very last page in the book tells us the woman and baby on the cover are Shoshone Bannock. Indeed, with that page we learn that the other photographs in the book are of children and family members who are Lakota Sioux, Navajo, Iroquois, and Potawatomi.

On the first page, we see a mom and baby. The text is "My mother loves me." That pattern is repeated over the rest of the book. A dad, a brother, a sister, an aunt, an uncle, a grandma, a grandpa, and a great grandma... embracing a child. They're clad in a range of clothing, from jeans and t-shirts to traditional clothing, but all of it in the day-to-day life of the individuals being shown. Slier's photo essay is a terrific mirror for Native kids, and, it'll help children and adults who aren't Native see us as in the fullness of our lives as Native people.

I heartily recommend Slier's Loving Me, published by Star Bright Books.

Go Back:30 Days | 7 Days | 2 Days | 1 Day

IndyWatch First People News Feed Today.

Go Forward:1 Day | 2 Days | 7 Days | 30 Days

Tuesday, 09 February

17:39

One House Many Nations: Next Steps Learn - Idle No More


INM-Logo-One-House2.png

Idle No More - One House Many Nations: Next Steps

 

The One House Many Nations: Next Steps focuses on building sustainable housing out of recycled wooden pallets. This project is significant for three reasons:

Monday, 08 February

22:08

Progress can kill: shocking photos highlight tribes' health crisis News from Survival International

Warwick Thornton photographed his relatives to bring attention to the appalling health problems affecting Aboriginal communities
Warwick Thornton photographed his relatives to bring attention to the appalling health problems affecting Aboriginal communities
© Warwick Thornton/ Anna Schwartz Gallery (Shanika, 2015 Pigment print on cotton rag art paper 153 × 152cm)

Remarkable photographs by Australian Aboriginal film-maker Warwick Thornton demonstrate the devastating impact “progress” and “development” have had on the health of tribal peoples. They illustrate findings in Survival’s recently published “Progress can kill” report, which revealed horrifying statistics on indigenous health.

Thornton used images of his relatives posing with cans of coke, beer and fast food packaging strapped to them like bombs to stress the terrible diets forced on indigenous people in Australia and in other countries. Poverty and social marginalization have left many dependent...

IndyWatch First People News Feed Archiver

Go Back:30 Days | 7 Days | 2 Days | 1 Day

IndyWatch First People News Feed Today.

Go Forward:1 Day | 2 Days | 7 Days | 30 Days

IndyWatch First People News Feed was generated at Australian News IndyWatch.

Resource generated at IndyWatch using aliasfeed and rawdog